XOn Software

NI Products

Category main page

National Instruments (NI™) offers four product lines for data acquisition and processing, which of course are all integrated in LabVIEW and LabWindows CVI with excellent drivers. The most important functions are built into the DAQmx driver library in such a way that a simple code works without modifications on all platforms presented here.

cDAQ (Compact DAQ)

A cDAQ system always consists of a controller or chassis and the modules installed in it. There are controllers with their own integrated computer (cDAQ-9132, cDAQ-9133, cDAQ-9134, cDAQ-9135, cDAQ-9136, cDAQ-9137) and passive chassis that are connected via USB (cDAQ-9117, cDAQ-9174, cDAQ -9178, cDAQ-9179) or Ethernet (cDAQ-9184, cDAQ-9185, cDAQ-9188, cDAQ-9189) can be connected to a normal PC or laptop. You can put 1, 4, 8 or 14 modules into such a chassis. Modules are available for the different signals (analog or digital) and with different sampling rates.
  • very easy to program
  • universally usable due to the large number of available modules
  • No real-time behavior, only limited control options
  • Complex modules such as CAN bus interfaces only work in the cRIO

To the catalogue

cRIO (Compact Reconfigurable IO)

At first glance, a cRIO system looks exactly like a cDAQ system. The important difference lies in the backplane, there is no passive bus installed here, but an FPGA (hence the name "reconfigurable"). A cRIO system has different layers in which user-written software runs:
  • the FPGA backplane
  • the cRIO controller
  • the application program in a PC
LabVIEW with additional toolkits FPGA and Realtime allows to implement the code of all three levels in LabVIEW. With a pure chassis (NI-9144, NI-9145, NI-9146, NI-9147, NI-41-48, NI-9149) the middle programming level, the controller, is omitted, only the FPGA and the application software are programmed. With a cRIO controller (cRIO-9040, cRIO-9041, cRIO-9042, cRIO-9043, cRIO-9045, cRIO-9046, cRIO-9047, cRIO-9048), a computer is already installed in the device that can take on tasks which are too complex for the FPGA. A cRIO system can also work autonomously without a connected computer (measuring, controlling, regulating, recording, ..). The individual devices differ in the size and design of the FPGA, you can easily determine the size required for your task yourself by trying to compile your LabVIEW FPGA code for a simulated device. Most cDAQ modules also work in a cRIO system (mechanically the same), there are a few additional modules for the cRIO. a> , which cannot work without FPGA.
  • Real-time behavior, fast controllers can be implemented
  • Additional cards such as CAN bus, but also special modules such as injector control for the automotive industry
  • universally usable due to the large number of available modules
  • Programming much more complex, LabVIEW RealTime and FPGA required
  • more expensive than cDAQ
A cRIO system can also be operated as a "dumb" measuring device (like a cDAQ) with the help of the "Scan Engine", but then you have no advantage from the FPGA.

To the catalogue

PC based Systems (PCI, PCIe, USB)

The plug-in cards are the classic of PC-based data acquisition, but they have to be installed in a computer, making sure that the mainboard used has the right slots (PCI, PCIe) free. National Instruments offers over 100 different cards in different configurations (bus system, number and type of analog inputs, number and type of analog outputs, digital inputs and outputs, timer and counter).
  • very easy to program (like cDAQ)
  • very high transfer rates possible in the PCIe bus
  • Special cards such as bus interface ... available
  • No real-time behavior, only limited control options

To the catalogue

PXI based Systems (PXI, PXIe, FlexRIO, SLSC)

A PXI system is basically the same as a PC with plug-in cards, but everything from a single source and in an industrial form factor. There is always a PC in the system, which can be used with a Windows operating system or as a real-time system. The selection of cards is even larger than for plug-in cards, since only one bus system has to be taken into account here and the possible transmission rates are even higher.
  • PXI system with Windows operating system on the controller:
    • very easy to program (like cDAQ)
    • very high transmission rates possible in the PXI bus
    • Many special cards available
    • More slots than a classic PC
    • No real-time behavior, only limited control options
    • more expensive than industrial PCs with plug-in cards
  • PXI system with RealTime operating system on the controller:
    • Real-time behavior, fast controllers can be implemented
    • very high transmission rates possible in the PXI bus
    • Many special cards available
    • More slots than a classic PC
    • Programming much more complex
    • Requires LabVIEW RealTime

PXI chassis and controller catalog

To the catalog of PXI Modules

Copyright © XOn Software GmbH

XOn, Produkte, Hardware, NI Produkte

NI Produkte

XOn Software

NI Produkte

Hauptseite der Kategorie

National Instruments (NI™) bietet zur Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung vier Produktlinien an, die natürlich alle in LabVIEW und LabWindows CVI mit hervorragenden Treibern integriert sind. Die wichgsten Funktionen sind in der DAQmx Treiber Bibliothek so verbaut, dass ein einfacher Code ohne Änderungen auf allen hier vorgestellten Platformen funktioniert.

cDAQ (Compact DAQ)

Ein cDAQ System besteht immer aus einem Controller oder Chassis und darin verbauten Modulen. Es gibt Controller mit eigenem, integriertem Rechner (cDAQ-9132, cDAQ-9133, cDAQ-9134, cDAQ-9135, cDAQ-9136, cDAQ-9137) und passive Chassis, die über USB (cDAQ-9117, cDAQ-9174, cDAQ-9178, cDAQ-9179) oder Ethernet (cDAQ-9184, cDAQ-9185, cDAQ-9188, cDAQ-9189) an einen normalen PC oder Laptop angebunden werden. In solch ein Chassis kann man je mach Größe 1, 4, 8 oder 14 Module stecken. Module sind für die unterschiedlichen Signale (analog oder digital) und mit unterschiedlichen Abtastraten verfügbar.
  • sehr einfach zu programmieren
  • universell nutzbar durch sehr große Zahl von verfügbaren Modulen
  • kein Echtzeitverhalten, nur eingeschränkte Möglichkeiten einer Regelung
  • komplexe Module wie z.B. CAN-Bus Schnittstellen funktionieren nur im cRIO

Zum Katalog

cRIO (Compact Reconfigurable IO)

Ein cRIO System sieht auf den ersten Blick genau so aus wie ein cDAQ System. Der wichtige Unterschied liegt in der Backplane, hier ist kein passiver Bus verbaut, sondern ein FPGA (daher die Bezeichnung "Reconfigurable"). Ein cRIO System hat verschiedene Ebenen, in der vom Anwender geschriebene Software abläuft:
  • die FPGA Backplane
  • den cRIO Controller
  • das Anwendungsprogramm in einem PC
LabVIEW mit zusätzlichen Toolkits FPGA und Realtime erlaubt es, den Code aller drei Ebenen in LabVIEW zu implementieren. Bei einem reinen Chassis (NI-9144, NI-9145, NI-9146, NI-9147, NI-41-48, NI-9149) entfällt die mittlere Programmierebene, der Controller, es wird nur der FPGA und die Anwendungssoftware programmiert. Bei einem cRIO Controller (cRIO-9040, cRIO-9041, cRIO-9042, cRIO-9043, cRIO-9045, cRIO-9046, cRIO-9047, cRIO-9048) ist im Gerät bereits ein Rechner verbaut, der Aufgaben übernehmen kann, die für den FPGA zu komplex sind. Ein cRIO System kann auch ohne angeschlossenen Rechner autark arbeiten (Messen, Steuern, Regeln, Aufzeichnen, ..). Die einzelnen Geräte unterscheiden sich in der Größe und Ausführung des FPGA, die für Ihre Aufgabe nötige Größe können Sie einfach selber ermitteln, indem Sie versuchen, Ihren LabVIEW FPGA Code für ein simuliertes Gerät zu kompilieren. Die meisten cDAQ Module funktionieren auch in einem cRIO System (mechanisch gleich), für das cRIO gibt es ein paar zusätzliche Module , die nicht ohne FPGA arbeiten können.
  • Echtzeitverhalten, schnelle Regler können realisiert werden
  • zusätzliche Karten wie CAN-Bus, aber auch spzielle Module wie z.B. Ansteuerung von Injektoren für die Automobilindustrie
  • universell nutzbar durch sehr große Zahl von verfügbaren Modulen
  • Programmierung deutlich komplexer, LabVIEW RealTime und FPGA erforderlich
  • teurer als cDAQ
Ein cRIO System kann auch mit Hilfe der "Scan Engine" als "dummes" Messgerät betrieben werden (wie ein cDAQ), dann hat man aber keinen Vorteil durch den FPGA.

Zum Katalog

Einsteckkarten

Die Einsteckkarten sind der Klassiker der PC gestützten Datenerfassung, allerdings müssen sie in einen Rechner eingebaut werden, dabei ist darauf zu achten, dass das verwendete Mainboard die richtigen Slots (PCI, PCIe) frei hat. National Instrumens bietet über 100 verschiedene Karten in unterschiedlichen Konfigurationen (Bussystem, Anzahl und Art der analogen Eingänge, Anzahl und Art der analogen Ausgänge, digitale Ein- und Ausgänge, Timer und Counter) an.
  • sehr einfach zu programmieren (wie cDAQ)
  • sehr hohe Übertragungsraten im PCIe Bus möglich
  • Spezialkarten wie Bus-Interface ... verfügbar
  • kein Echtzeitverhalten, nur eingeschränkte Möglichkeiten einer Regelung

Zum Katalog

PXI Systeme

Ein PXI System ist im Prinzip das Gleiche wie ein PC mit Einsteckkarten, aber alles aus einer Hand und in einem industrietauglichen Formfaktor. Im System steckt immer ein PC, dieser kann mit Windows Betriebssystem oder als RealTime System verwendet werden. Die Auswahl an Karten ist noch größer als bei den Einsteckkarten, da hier nur ein Bussystem berücksichtigt werden muss und die möglichen Übertragungsraten noch höher sind.
  • PXI System mit Windows Betriebssystem auf dem Controller:
    • sehr einfach zu programmieren (wie cDAQ)
    • sehr hohe Übertragungsraten im PXI Bus möglich
    • viele Spezialkarten verfügbar
    • mehr Steckplätze als bei einem klassischen PC
    • kein Echtzeitverhalten, nur eingeschränkte Möglichkeiten einer Regelung
    • teurer als Industrie-PCs mit Einsteckkarten
  • PXI System mit RealTime Betriebssystem auf dem Controller:
    • Echtzeitverhalten, schnelle Regler können realisiert werden
    • sehr hohe Übertragungsraten im PXI Bus möglich
    • viele Spezialkarten verfügbar
    • mehr Steckplätze als bei einem klassischen PC
    • Programmierung deutlich komplexer
    • LabVIEW RealTime erforderlich
  • Zubehör, Kabel und Stecker:

Zum Katalog von PXI Chassis und Controller

Zum Katalog der PXI Karten

Haben Sie noch Fragen oder benötigen Sie ein passendes Angebot? Dann rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail.

Copyright © XOn Software GmbH

XOn, Produkte, Hardware, NI Produkte

NI Produkte